A Good Book Day

I finally finished Can’t Buy Me Love (review coming after the holiday) and can stop lugging those 650 pages around wondering when we would get to 1969 already.  Heading out on errands after work, I spotted The Inhabited Woman by Giaconda Belli on the E Train downtown.  Those errands took me to Borders in the Financial District.  I love this time of year because I can justify buying books for other people and thus spending lots of time lurking in the stacks.  Then, on the R Train headed home, the professorial gentleman across from me was unable to stifle his laughter at Winner of the National Book Award – I thought it was a compilation of pieces by winners, but it’s actually a novel by Jincy Willett (subtitle: A Novel of Fame, Honor and Really Bad Weather).  Since it turns out The Inhabited Woman (described as a romantic suspense novel) is not available from the NYPL, I’ll be reading Willett’s book next.

Leave a Reply

