Hot Times

Summer in New York makes for some Sophie’s Choices on the subway.  Bask in snagging a seat on the rush hour ride home or flee your seatmate who’s been digging ditches in the 95% humidity? I’ve tried a few different approaches lately.  Breathing shallowly through my mouth gave me a headache.  Getting up and changing cars made me feel kinda bad for the guy, who had to realize why.  Moving to another open seat (almost never possible) turned out not to be far enough away.

Any other options I missing?  I’ve been opting to hold my ground, breathe shallowly and glare from time to time, but maybe there’s a better way.

Leave a Reply

